5. The Meeting of Brother Marty.

I can’t remember when they found him.  Was there snow on the ground or was it Spring?  It was so long ago.  But I remember it happening.

I remember him coming home from the trip.  I remember the smile on his face and how he hugged me.  Hard.  It was as if all of the pressure and torment of the past 18 months had just evaporated with one significantly solid embrace.

He couldn’t tell us anything, yet.  But it wasn’t long before Brother Marty and his family were in town checking us out. They were coming from a small town in Kentucky and this was a BIG move for him.  Geographically and Career-wise.

BIG move.

I remember that Sunday at church…how excited we were. Yet forbidden to act with any extra enthusiasm.  No one could know what was going on.  We were to be seriously secretive and covert.  It felt important being a part of the inner circle. Knowing.  I do remember that.

After church, we sneaked off with the Search Committee and Brother Marty’s family to have lunch.  We met.

He was fat. And he smiled a lot.

I mean FAT and A LOT.

Leave a Reply

